Home > HK: Quarry Bay, Hong Kong, Japanese > Itacho Sushi, Quarry Bay

Itacho Sushi, Quarry Bay

If you don’t know already, ‘The Mother’, Dragon and I are currently living in Hong Kong. We moved in early August and there’s no exact time frame how long we will be here. I guess we will see how things go and take it from there. ‘The Mother’ came to Hong Kong a month earlier to find a place for us and I have to say that I was highly impressed with his choice. It’s not quite ‘home’ as we are still in the midst of unpacking our stuff. I am looking forward to our new lives here in Hong Kong, enjoying the food and shopping and hopefully there will be a bit of travel during our stay here.

It was our first day in Hong Kong and Dragon was a little tired from the flight and a little fussy so thought we would eat locally and check out the hood. I was craving Japanese, yes, after almost a year of not eating sashimi I am still craving it and can’t get enough of it. Thought we would check out Itacho Sushi, there are many branches of Itacho and Itamae Sushi in Hong Kong, and the one we went too is actually inside Jusco supermarket in Quarry Bay. The restaurant was relatively busy when we rocked up at 1.30pm.

We started with salmon and king fish sushi – the salmon was incredibly plump, fresh and delicious.

‘The Mother’ couldn’t resist the mackerel sushi and they were incredibly tasty, not too slimy.

A serving of tuna sashimi, they were good, but I definitely prefer salmon sashimi.

Cute little salmon and roe don, could definitely have done with more salmon and less rice!

One of my favourite, unagi, eel and egg don. Again could definitely have done with more eel and less rice!

And lastly crispy salmon skin, it was crunchy but moist and tender at the same time. Possibly one of my favourites.

Service minimal, I can’t remember how much each dish costs but I think total meal was around HKD350 which is less than AUD50. I wouldn’t say it’s the best Japanese I have had but nice to know I can get my fix here.

GA’s ratings: 6 / 10

Itacho Sushi

Shop L017A, Komhill Plaza South,

1 Komhill Road

Quarry Bay

Ph: +852 2904 8030

  1. August 20, 2012 at 4:34 am

    HK is quite expensive these days.

  2. August 20, 2012 at 9:17 am

    I wish I was in HK eating with you! x

  3. August 21, 2012 at 10:53 am

    Yum! I must try

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment