Home > Breakfast, Cafe, Coffee, Syd: Camperdown, Sydney > Runcible Spoon, Camperdown

Runcible Spoon, Camperdown

I have heard wonderful things about this café, which can be found on Barr Street in Camperdown, where the old Western Biscuit Factory used to be. Whilst perusing their menu on the website I noticed they served ‘pork belly’ for breakfast, now how can I say no to that?

I was catching up with the lovely suzchef for brunch, and suggested this place – she too couldn’t go past the pork belly for breakfast! It’s a cute little spot, nestled under apartment buildings, I can envisage parking to be a nightmare on the weekend, but on a weekday, it wasn’t too bad.

S started with the coffee, which wasn’t too bad she claimed.

Watermelon juice for me, which was fresh and refreshing.

We both opt for the poached eggs on toast ($9) and a couple of sides, S had the spinach ($3) and the pork belly ($4).

Check out the oozie egg – YUM!

I had the pork belly ($4) and mushrooms ($3). I almost ordered, pork belly and bacon – now that would be an over kill! Although, I was told that someone has ordered that before. The pork belly was crispy and tender with the right amount of fat, I could have definitely eaten a couple more slices of pork belly though! YUM!

Check out the pork belly at the bottom of the cabinet – my goodness! YUM!

I was told that the Thai Style Fried eggs with steamed jasmine rice, tomato, coriander and nam jim with pork belly is one of their best sellers! I thought having rice for breakfast was a bit heavy, although next time for lunch I will be ordering that! They serve breakfast all day, which is a bonus. Their lunch menu is not too bad, burgers, pork cassoulet and salad and soup if you want something lighter.

I am craving for their pork belly already – must visit soon! It is quite a small café and I assume that on the weekends, it does get fairly busy, but seriously, who can say no to pork belly for breakfast? Definitely NOT ME!

GA’s ratings: 8 / 10

Runcible Spoon

27 Barr Street

Camperdown 2050

Ph: +61 2 9519 2727

Runcible Spoon on Urbanspoon

  1. June 14, 2012 at 2:48 am

    Pork belly for breakfast is freakin brilliant! I love this place already!

  2. ksuyen
    June 14, 2012 at 5:00 am
  3. June 14, 2012 at 5:08 am

    Thai-style fried eggs sound like just the thing to wake you up in the morning, and ha, I would have gone for the pork belly and bacon. Oink oink!

  4. grabyourfork
    June 14, 2012 at 5:10 am

    Thai-style fried eggs sound like the perfect thing to wake up to in the morning, and I totally would have gone for the pork belly *and* bacon!

    • June 14, 2012 at 12:49 pm

      lol i might have to order pork belly and bacon next time i am there. although the thai-style fried eggs sounds tempting!

  5. June 14, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    It was a tiny place! Pork belly for brekkie is genius though. It was good to meet up with you and Em!

    • June 14, 2012 at 12:48 pm

      definitely lovely to catch up with you too! i think i might visit soon for my pork belly fix! lol

  6. June 15, 2012 at 1:12 am

    Ditto on the pork belly being brilliant, luckily I live in the neighbourhood!

  7. Tina @ bitemeshowme
    June 18, 2012 at 9:09 pm

    If I saw pork belly on a brunch menu I’d so order it too 😛 I really wish I lived closer to the city 😦

  8. Harmony
    October 11, 2012 at 2:28 am

    I had an average experience! Tried the Thai style fried eggs with pork belly – Pork belly was battered & so salty, salad was drenched in dressing and was sour & too tangy for my liking. My friend tried the Spanish baked eggs & it taste like tomato sauce! Didn’t try the coffee. We were over the place have way eating! One my first average experience following your blog. We give it a 4/10.

    • October 11, 2012 at 2:45 am

      Hey Harmony, thanks for dropping by. It’s a shame that you had an average experience. When did you go? We did go during the week on a Friday, and it was relatively quiet. and the pork belly was good! Shame!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment